KW-21-2016: Erinnerungen an das Fillmore East



Bill Graham s Fillmore East Last Three Nights, featuring major artists; Albert King, J. Geils Band, Edgare Winter, Mountain, the Beach Boys, Allman Brothers Band & Country Joe McDonald, June 1971. The Fillmore East opened in Manhattan in March 1968. Over the next three years it hosted almost every major rock artist of the era, as well as giants of soul, blues, folk, gospel and jazz. Bill Graham decided to close it in June 1971, but before doing so he assembled a remarkable 3-day bill featuring some of the most iconic and influential acts in America, spanning pop (the Beach Boys), blues (Albert King), rock n roll (the J. Geils Band, Edgar Winter, Mountain, the Allman Brothers Band) and folk (Country Joe McDonald a nod towards the venue s psychedelic roots). Presented here is the the entire WNEW-FM broadcast of these historic closing shows, together with background notes and images. 4CD Set.

 Disk: 1

  1. Bill Graham Intro – Albert King
  2. Knock On Wood
  3. Got To Be Some Changes
  4. Nothing But The Blues
  5. Crosscut Saw
  6. Personal Manager
  7. Bye Bye Blues
  8. Bill Graham Intro – J Geils Band
  9. Sno-Cone
  10. Wait
  11. First I Look At The Purse
  12. Whammer Jammer
  13. Homework
  14. Pack Fair And Square
  15. Cruisin‘ For A Love
  16. Serves You Right To Suffer
  17. Hard Drivin‘ Man

Disk: 2

  1. Bill Graham Intro – Edgar Winter’s White Trash
  2. Where Would I Be (Without You)
  3. Let’s Get It On
  4. Tobacco Road
  5. Turn On Your Love Light
  6. Bill Graham Intro – Mountain
  7. Never In My Life
  8. Theme From An Imaginary Western
  9. Roll Over Beethoven
  10. Dreams Of Milk And Honey-Swan Theme

Disk: 3

  1. Silver Paper
  2. Mississippi Queen
  3. Bill Graham Intro – The Beach Boys
  4. Heroes And Villains
  5. Do It Again
  6. Cotton Fields
  7. Help Me, Rhonda
  8. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
  9. Your Song
  10. Student Demonstration Time
  11. Good Vibrations
  12. California Girls
  13. I Get Around
  14. It’s About Time
  15. Bill Graham Intro – Country Joe McDonald
  16. Kiss My Ass
  17. Entertainment Is My Business
  18. Fixin-To-Die-Rag
  19. Rockin‘ All Around The World
  20. Hold On It’s Coming

Disk: 4

  1. Bill Graham Intro – The Allman Brothers
  2. Statesboro Blues
  3. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin‘
  4. Done Somebody Wrong
  5. One Way Out
  6. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
  7. Midnight Rider
  8. Hot ‚Lanta
  9. Whipping Post
  10. You Don’t Love Me